Basics of Jainism | जैन धर्म का आधार | Indian Culture

Basics of Jainism | जैन धर्म का आधार | Indian Culture

जैन धर्म का आधार | भारतीय संस्कृति | Basics of Jainism:

Truth and Ahimsa are two basic pillars of this ascetic order.  As supported by Bhagavata Puran, one Rishobha is the foundayer of Jainism.  Mahavir organised Jainism to coherent creed and Jains into a solid community.  At about 80 AD it divided into two sects namely SWETAMBAR and DIGAMBARAS.  The Digambars believe that a monk who wears clothes cannot achieve Nirvan and no woman is eligible for Nirvan. Basics of Jainism | जैन धर्म का आधार | Indian Culture

Also Read: Basics of Islam | इस्लाम का आधार | Indian Culture

Like Sanatan Dharma, Jain faith transmitted from the Guru to Shishya. However, by 454 A.D. the faith was put into scriptures.


Jainism believes that every material thing has a spirit in it.  By taking life, the laws of spirit is interfered.  Thus, evolution is obstructed.  Hence, sacrifice is forbidden.  Ahimsa is the doctrine.  Much stress is placed on purity.  This purity of soul consists of five main disciplines to achieve Mokshya-Ahimsa, Satyam, Asteya, Aparigraha and Brahma-Charya.  Human nature is not perfect, it can be only through Sadhana.  All are not capable of reaching the ethical and spiritual heights.

Also Read: Festivals of India | Vibrant and Glorious | Incredible India

The religion did not make much of God or transcendent reality; but they believed in spiritual entity-soul.  The soul takes re-birth because of its bondage with impurities.  The pure soul is Ananta-Darshan, Ananta Gyana, Ananta-Virya and Ananta-Sukha.  They believed in Karma and its effects.  The actions bind the soul to birth and death.  When soul in freed from the pressure of the matter it becomes all comprehensive knowledge unlimited by time and space. When soul is in the state of SHAYOPASTRAMIKA, Karma is still active and men then are called Gods.  When they reach ANPASHAMIKA or KSHAYIKA they become holy men.

Jainism recognised different stages of moral and spiritual evolutions.  All substances are of two types –

  • Astikeya
  • Anastikeya

The former is spiritual.  As per Jainism some Jeevas are Muktas (Liberated) while others are Badhhas (bound) and subject to illusion.  The Mukta’s possess infinite knowledge, perception and infinite power of bliss. जैन धर्म का आधार | Indian Culture

Also Read: Basics of Hinduism | हिंदुत्व का आधार | Indian Culture

Jain ethics lay tremendous stress on faith and works.  All actions leading to peace of mind are punyas.  Himsa or causing injury is sin.  The Jains do not accept God or concept of Brahman.  Creation is a process of interaction of substances and existence of “Being” is distinct from God.  Beings are worldly but can attain Divinity.  There is no place of Bhakti or surrender to God.  Nirvan is not annihilation of self but re-birth into a state of absolute purity and blessedness.  The soul exists – it is freest essence of freedom. जैन धर्म का आधार | Indian Culture

Also Read : Indus Valley Civilization | सिन्धु घाटी सभ्यता | हमारा इतिहास

Facebook page : Click here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here